MP3: Gangrene (Oh No and Alchemist) – “Chain Swinging”

Oh No (aka Madlib’s brother) and Alchemist have joined forces as Gangrene. This sounds like an excellent idea, East Coast-West Coast grittiness combined with a knack for experimental beat-making… but the single they’ve released in anticipation of their October album, “Chain Swinging,” is kind of uninspiring. Then I listened to it again, and it’s growing on me. Download it here. And check out the tracklist below:


1. Intro
2. Boss Shit  (Cuts by DJ Romes)
3. Not High Enough
4. Gutter Water ft. Raekwon
5. Get Into Some Gangster Shit ft. Planet Asia
6. Take Drugs
7. Chain Swinging (Cuts by DJ Romes)
8. Wassup Wassup ft. Fashawn and Evidence
9. All Bad (Cuts by DJ Romes)
10. Breathing Down Yo Neck ft. MED
11. From Another Orbit ft. Roc C
12. Ransom
13. Standing In The Shadows
14. Brass Knuckle Rap ft. Guilty Simpson
15. Not Leaving ft. Big Twins

Video: Kid Sister – Big N Bad

Kid Sister is a hell of a lot of fun. And she’s super pretty. Watch her new video for “Big N Bad” here.

MP3: Cheyenne Marie Mize and Bonnie “Prince” Billy – Among The Gold

Among The Gold is Cheyenne Marie Mize and Bonnie “Prince” Billy’s “rendition of a collection of 19th Century American parlor music,” and it’s available to download for free right here. Here’s to old-timey.

Glaciers Of Ice – Summer Edition

Extry, extry, read all about it… here.

MP3: The Burnerz – “No Justice”

Lots of folks in the Bay Area have been more than a little disturbed by the “involuntary manslaughter” verdict in the Oscar Grant trial. The police officer who shot and killed Grant escaped a murder charge, but the cell phone video capturing the events may tell differently… although, to be honest, it’s hard to say precisely what was going on when he pulled his weapon. Nonetheless, Grant is dead, and that’s a tragedy. The Burnerz, Zumbi of Zion I and Producer The Are, released a new song detailing their feelings about it. Listen below.

MP3: Superchunk – “Skip Steps 1 & 3”

Merge will reissue the classic Superchunk albums next month, No Pocky For Kitty and On The Mouth. I feel like all I’ve been doing recently is listening to ’90s indie rock, but hearing remastered music like this is all the justification I need. Of course, this is just the icing – the band will release a new album, Majesty Shredding, in September. Listen to “Skip Steps 1 & 3” here. And check out the tracklistings below.

No Pocky for Kitty track listing:
1. Skip Steps 1 & 3
2. Seed Toss
3. Cast Iron
4. Tower
5. Punch Me Harder
6. Sprung A Leak
7. 30 Xtra
8. Tie A Rope To The Back Of The Bus
9. Press
10. Sidewalk
11. Creek
12. Throwing Things

On the Mouth track listing:
1. Precision Auto
2. From the Curve
3. For Tension
4. Mower
5. Package Thief
6. Swallow That
7. I Guess I Remembered It Wrong
8. New Low
9. Untied
10. The Question is How Fast
11. Trash Heap
12. Flawless
13. The Only Piece That You Get

MP3: El-P and Camu Tao (Central Services) – “What God Should Do”

El-P is offering up a taste of Central Services, his early-2000s collaboration with the late, great Camu Tao, with this track, called “What God Should Do.” Honestly, I wanna like this more than I do, but the vocals and production stray a bit too close to emo-rap-rock.

MP3: Rick Ross – “BMF” (aka the fucking jam of the summer)

The fucking jam of the summer!!!! Got turned onto this last night by Funkmaster Flex. I never ever felt Rick Ross like I feel this. Listen now and repeatedly. I think I’m Big Meech! Larry Hoover!

New Release: Deerhunter – Halcyon Digest

Nuff said!

MP3: Health – “Eat Flesh (Baron von Luxxury Extended Remix)”

Baron von Luxxury likes Health creepy, sexy, and slow. Don’t take my word for it, listen to the BVL remix of “Eat Flesh,” off the DISCO2 remix album, here.

MP3: White Ring – “Suffocation” (Los Campesinos! Remix)

White Ring’s new EP, Suffocation, features a bunch of remixes of the title track. Listen to Los Campesinos!’s kiddie-pool take on the band’s scream-y, reverb-soaked vocals here. More summer fun.

Film: New Jerusalem

R. Alverson’s new movie, New Jerusalem, stars a bald Will Oldham who may or may not be having a gay love affair with Colm O’Leary, and may or may not be really into Jesus. Watch the trailer below.

MP3: Brothertiger – “Vision Tunnels”

It’s hot as balls here in NYC and my vision is hazy and my general mindstate is fuzzy. Seems like the perfect time for some electro-shoegaze from Brothertiger. Check out his new song, “Vision Tunnels,” here.

Books: Neil Young – Long May You Run (Voyageur Press, written by Daniel Durchholz & Gary Graff)

Neil Young: Long May You Run is subtitled The Illustrated History, an important part of the title of this new unofficial biography of the rock and roll legend. Released this past May, the book spans Young’s entire career, from his childhood in Winnipeg, Canada to his prolific work with Buffalo Springfield, CSNY, Crazy Horse, and every band in between to his collaborations in the grunge era with Sonic Youth and Pearl Jam to his upcoming summer tour.

Many of the quotes and interviews found within the book’s well laid out and beautifully printed pages are things you may have read before – it appears that the writers did very few interviews of their own, instead relying on previously published material. That doesn’t necessarily take away from the impact or interest of the biography, but it does leave you wondering if their access was limited. There are some interesting accounts in the book that deal with the mythology and musical connections of Young: the Bob Dylan-Neil Young connection (apparently, Dylan thought “Heart of Gold” cut a bit too close to his own work), Young’s original touring car – a hearse he called Mortimer Hearseburg, a rumored feud with Lyrnyrd Skynyrd over Young’s Southern posturing, and, most interestingly, Young’s early connection with the man soon to be known as Rick James – the two played in a band together for a short time in the ’60s. There is also an interesting account of Young’s problems with seizures early in his life, which one can’t help but compare to Joy Division’s Ian Curtis’ battles with a similar malady. Fortunately, for Young, things turned out much better.

Ultimately, the real bread and butter of the book are its pictures – concert pics, childhood snapshots, concert and movie posters, postcards, you name it. Long May You Run is an interesting read, but it’s also a good coffee table book, filled with enough visual stimuli to interest even a casual Young fan like myself with its rich photographic history.

Neil Young – Long May You Run: The Illustrated History is available from Voyageur Press.

Stream: Wavves – King of the Beach (Fat Possum)

To quote a friend, “why are punks going ape shit for them?” Indeed. Stream the new Wavves album here and determine for yourself. I was enthralled by the first album, or at least intrigued. But better production seems to kind of highlight what Wavves lacks – creative songwriting, good vocals, sweet ideas – rather than what Wavves has. Yes, there are some pretty catchy tunes (“Super Soaker”) but my fictional little brother’s band could have written these. But they didn’t, and I guess that’s the point. And watch a live clip to see what is really the what.

**OK, I’m amending my comments here. This album is fiercely tuneful and pleasing to the ear in a very basic, simple way. Deserving of the hype? Maybe not, but as I get all the way through, I can see the appeal of bigger-budget Wavves.