Sounds: Binary – “G.O.D.”

Binary is being touted for its industrial-leaning tendencies, but there’s a lot more going on here.

Video: Tricky – “Does It”

Tricky getting back to basics.

Sounds: G&D – “PopStopper”

Georgia Anne Muldrow and Dudley Perkins make beautiful music together.


Video: Dead Gaze – “I Found The Ending”

Satisfying lo-fi indie rock from Dead Gaze.

Video: Barn Owl – “Void Redux”

Horror movie synth soundtrack.

Video: The White Mandingos – “The Ghetto is Tryna Kill Me”

Finally, a video from this hip-hop-punk hybrid – and it’s much better than that sounds. I wrote about them here a few weeks ago.

Sounds: Evenings – “Chesapeak”

Evenings has a new album coming out on 4/16 called Yore – sample the smooth glitch-hop below.


Sounds: R.A. The Rugged Man feat. Talib Kweli – “Learn Truth”

Man, R.A. getting all serious and shit to keep up with Kweli on this new track, off his new album, Legends Never Die, due out April 30.


Video: First Light – “Los Lobos”

Pep Love and Opio are First Light and they clearly smoked a blunt or two before making this video. New album, Fallacy Fantasy, out today. Bay Area hip-hop lives strong.

Video: Slava – “Werk”

Office jobs don’t have to be boring.

Video: Wolf People – “All Returns”

Another “wolf” band hits the scene, this time with a proggy classic rock sound. Wolf People’s new album, Fain, comes out April 30 and features lots of guitar solos and lilting riffs.

Sounds: Hospital Ships – “Come Back To Life”

Hospital Ships’ Jordan Geiger’s time with Minus Story may be long over, but his penchant for emotional, buoyant songwriting continues. New album, Destruction in Yr Soul, out June 18. Listen to a new song here.


Sounds: Strictly Ballroom – “Escape Plan #4”

The late, great Strictly Ballroom has a new retrospective compilation out today, Collected Recordings. Members went on to a lot of bigger, if not better, projects – Dntel, Postal Service, Beachwood Sparks, and more. Listen to a previously unreleased track here and enjoy the screamo.


Sounds: Aceyalone – “Leanin’ on Slick”

Longtime LA indie-rap stalwart Aceyalone will release a new album, Leanin’ on Slick, May 28. The Freestyle Fellowship member sounds a little older and perhaps a bit wiser on the title track, which seems to indicate a good new album full of old-school funk and jazz sounds.


Video: Freeze-Tag – “Eskimo”

R’n’b glitch.